My Wild Sunflower

 
My wild sunflower...
I THINK!!!
I am not a 100% sure yet... but still ...
 
All winter I have been feeding the birds with sunflower seeds in the bird house...
These tiny creatures are the sweetest...but have no table manners what so ever....
 
Well, I must say, 4 weeks ago I was (am...) rather pleased at their lack of table manners... One of the thousands of seeds that I have fed them with scattered away while they were eating. It found its way under the snow and into the soft soil beneath - just a metre and a half from the birdhouse...
 
One day - in early June - I was out in the back garden and I found this sturdy green shoot ...
Is it a SUNFLOWER?? I thought.
It did look like one and I hope it is...
 
Nevertheless I built a "fence" around it (with grill-sticks) and tied it with string as a support......so that our landlord will see it and not mow it down with his lawnmower... I told him that and he shook his head and had a hearty laugh!
 
I made a sort of moat around it with more soil so the water wouldn't run down...and it is growing growing growing. Next week I will get it a better stronger support...
 
We just have to wait and see if a sunflower will bloom by mid-August or if it is...... hmm....

Signing off for now.

C.S!
(Cresat Scientia)

 

 
 
 
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0