Butterflies at home.....

When I sit on the steps to the back garden drinking my morning coffee, I am visited by a friendly pale cream butterfly drinking its morning coffee (read: nectar!) too... from a mug of bright blue Lobelia ....

 

I am enchanted.... Imagine! butterflies were drawn 3500 years ago in Egyptian hieroglyphics ... but this is just "yesterday" as far as Time is concerned....I have read that the earliest fossil dates back to 40 million years ago!!! FORTY MILLION... It is absolutely mindboggling! to think that this butterfly keeping me company on a summer's day has its ancestors dating back all those millions of years....

 

Butterflies are a part of many cultures. They symbolise many things from the Japanese' "souls of the dead" to love, rebirth, good luck and so on...

 

For me.... they are just beautiful creatures in my garden...they bring me happiness by just "being here"...

"Happiness is a butterfly, which when pursued, is always just beyond your grasp, but which, if you will sit down quietly, may alight upon you".

(Nathaniel Hawthorne)


I don't chase them,

I don't catch them,

I don't go looking for them...

They are just there...and I am glad for the chance to see them when they alight on one of my flowers...

or they read my book...

or play on my sandals...

or listen to music in my stereo....

or play in the brown soil...

or take a break on my blue carpet...

 (See pictures below....)

 
"The butterfly counts not months but moments, and has time enough".

Rabindranath Tagore

Signing off for now.

C.S!
(Cresat Scientia)


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0