The "Clash of the Titans"

 
A poem written to my brave birds
 

Here in my garden

A battle is raging

For Olympian supremacy over

Tiny, nutty

Striped sunflower seed.

 

Green finches versus

Great tits versus

Sparrows versus

Blue tits versus

Nuthatches versus

Marsh tits versus

Magpies....

 

Versus

The monochrome cat

That lurks, eyeing dolefully

Licking his chops.

Prompted by his genes

To snap a finch.

 

Alas for him                 

He must dream on.

'My' titans fly at whirring speed

With a twitter and a chirp

Akin to the laughter and giggles

Of teenage girls.

 

They rage their wars

with beaks, claws, wings

Fulminating anathemas1

In ancient Chirp-language

Unknown to us.

 

I stand by my window

Bemused. My

Canon

Captures

Covertly, the

Clash of the Titans -

In my back garden.

-------------------------------------------------------

 

(In all fairness, although it is definitely Catch-22 of  "Si vis pacem fac bellum"2  in the birdhouse - my Canon has also captured delightful ante bellum birds as well...but that's for another time...)

 

Signing off for now.

C.S!
(Cresat Scientia/

 

1. From Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

2.If you want peace, make war

 

 
 
 
 

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0