The Egg Van

Nope...I don't particularly enjoy shopping- (unless it is a book shop or  even better - a SHOE shop of course!). But a lot of exciting things happen en route to the shops and that is such a treat for the soul...

This time it is not about The Swan Family (they are happily swimming about I am glad to say...I just saw them today)..but today it is about our Egg Van!

 
I have seen this van parked in the same spot a couple of times in the past 2 summers on our drives to the neighbouring town. In fact it is quite close to the "SwanLake". I never paid any attention... until this summer.... ! I think I must have taken the blue van to be forest workers or a farmer. My visits to the neighbouring town is as erratic as the van standing there and I never really thought much more about it...

Three weeks ago I actually "saw" the yellow sign saying: The Egg Van. We stopped and would you believe it??

In the middle of nowhere...

out in the country side...

on a small dirt-road...

there is this blue van!

It has a fridge mounted at the back. The door to the van is always left open. You just open the fridge and take as many cartons of eggs you want, close the fridge, put the money in a little box just by the fridge and then leave.... it is as simple as that!! And it is as amazing as that!

There is no one to check ... there are no houses nearby...there are no CCTV's....

 
(THE TINY METAL BOX FOR THE MONEY)

No one pinches the money nor steals the eggs. And there are lots of people driving on that country lane since there are small villages and farmhouses all around. Well, of course, I do not know for sure whether there are any "thefts" or not....but simple logic says that the "egg-farmer" would not be leaving his van there if the money in the little metal box did not tally with the number of cartons gone. 

The farmhouse is further down that little dirt-track. The farmer owns fields where he grows wheat/corn and he also has a number of hens and chickens. They are of course free range... and there definitely is a difference in size, colour and most importantly- taste!

 


Now a days we stop by the blue van as often as we can and buy our farm eggs. Our omelettes and boiled-eggs-on-toast now are simply delicious! I always scratch a "Thank you" on the ground and make sure we return the empty carton. It is a tiny speck in the huge spectra of recycling... and I am very happy for my palatable breakfasts!
 
Signing off for now.

C.S!
(Cresat Scientia/ May (my) knowledge grow/Må (min) kunskap(en) växa)

 

 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0