BLOGGGGGGERED.....!!

image3
Heeeey Guys!! I have been hit by the BlogBug!! Yup, I have. And you know what...? Its FUNNNN!!

I have been reading a number of blogs in the past year and find most of them extremely interesting. Reading travel- blogs is a great source of information that gives another dimension to travelling....places to see and tips that most offical tourist sites do not carry...I have been reading a young girl's blog while on her 1 year study-sojourn in Chile and her travels in that part of the world and I have to admit I learnt  a lot more from her and seen some astounding pictures than I would have from a tourist site or a book.

Actually I did som "studying" on this new electronic phenomenon that seems to have spread like wild fire on cables across the world...at first I was sceptical.... you know...like the early years of microwave ovens...when one thought it was a devastating nuke apparatus in the home and now one can't survive without it.....yeah, I was one of those too...and now I don't even remember how to re-heat food on a stove......its a similar parallel! I didn't think I would land up HERE!!! Well, how boring life would be if it was predictable....

Let me tell you that I finally learnt about the etymology of the word Blog. Being a student of Eng Literature and Language, I had, many years ago (and for many years) resisted and battled against this pseudo-language that was emerging due to our lives catapulting into a world of cables, nets and Bill Gates. Lingual post post modernism, indeed. And then I decided to go Bob Dylan-ish and believe in The Times, They're A-Changin'...
So, I am not revolting any more but have made my peace....

Web Log meaning something like an On-line diary was coined by someone called Jorn Barger in 1997... and Blog was coined by a Peter Merholz as he joked the word inte we blog and is now just blog...used both as a noun and a verb...Wow! Do not ask me who these guys were because my "studies" on this subject did not extend to their biographies....

I was also suprised to learn that there are many types and genre of blogs...and also a Blogosphere...and numerous blog-connected words....soon making the publishers of the Oxford Dictionary rethink their marketing strategy...maybe sell it with its own tripod??

And...
I was futher surprised to read about all the problems blogs have created....a guy called Saurav Sabnis in India apparently resigned from IBM after his blog exposed false claims of a management school, IIPM. The management of IIPM threatened to burn their IBM laptops as a sign of protest against him ..... there seems to be any number of such cases... defamation seems to be the biggest threat...

Well I have strong views on that...and I am not about to use the blog in the same way....Why go for medial sensationalsm when there is so much else to talk about...?

What bugs me though in this blogbug is why the entries are displayed in reverse chronological order... it makes no logical sense to me...but then Hey! Me, jussa woman..... Hahaha.....

Signing off for now!

CS
= (Cresat Scientia/ May knowledge grow/Må kunskapen växa)

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0